Fun with Cooking: Starbucks’ Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumble

A few summers ago, Starbucks came out with a strawberry-rhubarb crumble bar. I didn’t try it out when it first came out, but eventually got around to trying it.

And hoo boy, did I get addicted. Unfortunately, I got addicted about a month before it went away forever, as Starbucks is often wont to do with seasonal pastries.

Still, the crumble was something I liked enough to want to try and find the recipe for. Luckily, a chef in Maryland loved them too and experimented with the recipe enough to perfect it and post it on her blog, Frederick Foodie. I tried it once about a year ago, and recipe fail.

(Although let’s be perfectly honest. It was most definitely user fail, especially because I’m pretty sure I didn’t have enough rhubarb and possibly enough something else.)

This summer, I was itching to try the recipe again so I gathered up all the ingredients, made sure I had enough of everything and got down to business.

I also had Brandon puree everything in the Cuisinart like it’s supposed to be … another thing I’m pretty sure I didn’t do last time. Oops.

This time around, I didn’t have the crumble brown too early like I did the first time. Whether that’s due to me following the recipe better or just a different oven, I don’t know. In any case, it came out and it came out wonderfully. I don’t exactly know if it tastes exactly like the original Starbucks ones did given that it’s been about three years since the ‘Bux carried the bars, but delish regardless.

sr_crumble
Finished product.

sr_crumble2
Cross-section.

sr_crumble3
Close-up of the deliciousness.

Leave a Reply

