Boston 2016, Day Six

Finally, the end of the never-ending trip, I know.

Tuesday, April 19 was our last full day in Boston. We started off with another T. Anthony’s breakfast (hadn’t had their French toast yet; just as good as I remember from college) and then got to the New England Aquarium as they opened. I hadn’t been since sophomore year in college and wanted to revisit it, and Brandon’s always up for seeing fishies.

4-19nea
Playing with sting rays, as we do.

4-19nea3
Jellyfish.

4-19nea4
Early morning at the Aquarium means cleaning penguin poop.

4-19nea10
More jellies.

4-19nea11
True story: I was looking for the lobster in this tank and finally found his tail. I said hi (as I do) … and he turned around. I’m telling you, lobster whisperer.

After the Aquarium, it was off to the North End to get to Neptune Oyster as they opened. We were still a little early so we split another cannoli from Mike’s, but decided to get in line about 25 minutes before Neptune opened. Good thing we did, too, as we barely got a spot inside.

4-19city
Menu.

4-19city2
Inside.

4-19city3
Outside.

After Neptune, we walked around a bit more before finding ourselves at Boston Sail Loft for the disappointing dill chowder.

4-19city6
Cool place otherwise, though.

From there, we headed back towards BU since I had money I needed to spend in the bookstore. Got another sticker for my car (which I still need to put on … but I need to get my car washed before that …), my new favorite lightweight zip-up hoodie, a sweatshirt for Brandon, and a tank and socks for me. Plus a card with the Boston University T stop map on it that we framed and put up in the house.

At this point, Brandon reminded me I still hadn’t taken him to the BU Pub yet, so we remedied that. The BU Pub is an on-campus bar solely for (of age) students, faculty, staff, and alumni. I didn’t have a drink, but B did and he wished they had a place like it on UND’s campus. I may not have drank as much in the Pub as a lot of my fellow Terriers, but I ate a lot of sandwiches there (they’ve got good sandwiches) and kicked a lot of ass at their trivia with my friend Brent.

We took some pictures at the BU Beach post-BU Pub …

4-19city8
On the whale. I spent a lot of time climbing this thing in college, too.

4-19city9
Brandon pretending the cars driving by on Storrow Drive are waves …

4-19city10
Gorgeous Boston in the springtime.

The best Boston dinner to hold me over until next time (Thai fried rice, a slice of cheese from T. Anthony’s, and some Angora), and back to the hotel to spend our last night in the city that will always hold a large chunk of my heart.

Leave a Reply

