Arizona Trip, November 2016

Way back at the end of November, I road-tripped down to Arizona. This was ostensibly to volunteer at IRONMAN Arizona, but I also spent a few days in Tucson at either end, because why not.

Thursday, November 17:

The drive. Very long, very windy day. Worst gas mileage I have ever gotten.

11-17drive2
Sunset.

Friday, November 18:

11-18hotel2
Dinosaurs at the hotel. Stayed at the Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon.

11-18car
I may have killed many tumbleweeds the day prior … My car still had one in its jaws.

11-18tucson
I wandered the Fourth Street District a bit, trying something new in Tucson. I came across this guy, a remnant of the ancient old Magic Carpet Golf mini golf course, i.e. the best mini golf EVER. R.I.P.

11-18tucson2
Lunch was all-you-can-eat sushi at Sushi Garden. I technically should have been charged for some of my food, as I didn’t quite finish it, but the waitress was awesome and let me slide. Much appreciated!

11-18saguaro3
I spent a bit of time that evening trying to get the elusive awesome sunset saguaro shot. As you can see, I didn’t quite get there. Someday …

11-18saguaro4
I am so thankful that I can, because I know so many people who just don’t get the desert’s appeal.

Saturday, November 19:

Drove up to Tempe. Saw this guy on Mill:
11-19tempe

Hung out at the IMAZ expo, both simultaneously experiencing some FOMO and also VERY glad to not be racing. Ran into my friend Simon, because why wouldn’t I run into someone I know. Picked Brandon up from the airport.

Sunday, November 20:

Spectated IMAZ.

11-20tempe2
Got the hardest high-five ever from Simon here at the bike turnaround.

Mostly spent most of the evening volunteering at the TriSports.com aid station, having a blast as always.

Monday, November 21:

Drove back down to Tucson.

11-21tucson
Got lunch at delicious Lucky Wishbone.

Checked into the J.W. Marriott Starr Pass.

11-21hotel2

Went to Casa Molina for dinner.

casa_molina_cheese_crisp
Mmm, cheese crisp. Weird Sonoran thing, but delicious.

casa_molina_dinner
Dinner, with a demolished green corn tamale (the only tamale I will eat).

Tried out the Screamery for ice cream.

11-21tucson2

screamery_ice_cream

I tried the Mississippi Mudpie, which is an “infused coffee ice cream with hand-made dark chocolate cookies and chocolate swirl.” It was … okay. Not sure we’d return. We’re both really realizing that we don’t like “fancy” ice cream.

Tuesday, November 22:

Went to the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, since we hadn’t gone in several years.

11-22dm
Rare crested saguaro!

11-22dm7
Creative and funny.

11-22dm11
Standard “Brandon hugging a cactus” photo.

11-22dm12
Saguaro.

11-22dm13
Squeaky (Gustave) on a cactus.

11-22dm14
All the frogs!

11-22dm15
Cranky roadrunner.

11-22dm16
Dinosaurs in the desert.

11-22dm18
Brandon’s ideal backyard.

11-22dm20
The Desert Museum has sting rays now!

11-22hotel2
Chilling back at the hotel.

We tried out the Catalina BBQ Company, one of the (off-site) hotel restaurants for dinner, partially because we had heard good things about it.

catalina_bbq_co
I had the pulled pork; it wasn’t bad. Fries were pretty terrible, proving my theory that fries at barbecue joints just aren’t good.*

catalina_bbq_co2
Brandon had the pork, wings, and the macaroni and cheese. Everything tasted okay buuuut …

Wednesday, November 23:

… we think the wings gave Brandon food poisoning, as he was super sick for the drive home.

11-23drive

Not a fun time. Except for the food poisoning, though, overall a good trip down to the desert with a few new experiences.

* Notable exception being, of course, the Germantown Commissary.

Leave a Reply

